New faces join the Twickenham Riverside Trust

November 2020

Eight new Trustees have joined the Twickenham Riverside Trust after five founding members, having served the Charity-Commission recommended maximum nine years, recently stood down.

The appointments come at a key time in the evolution of the proposed redevelopment of central Twickenham’s Riverside. It is a collective aspiration that more residents and visitors will be able to experience the beauty of this unique stretch of the Thames, and that access to leisure activities on the river and along its Embankment, as well as the enjoyment of the surrounding open spaces and an appreciation of the area’s historic and cultural heritage, will be enhanced as a result.

The new Chair of the Trust, Hugh Brasher who has been a Trustee since 2012, welcomed the new faces:

“Some fantastic new Trust members are joining us with an excellent mix of skills and experience and we are looking forward with a new energy and dynamism. They were chosen from an incredibly high-quality pool of applicants, highlighting just how much local people care and are dedicated to making Twickenham Riverside the best possible place it can be.”

“As a key stakeholder in the ongoing project to redevelop the riverside, being led by Richmond Council, this is a particularly important time for the Trust’s work to deliver on its ambition to  make sure this beautiful location fulfills its potential to the benefit of our local community.”

The new members will join Brasher and the three other existing Trustees – Ted Cremin, Celia Holman and Matt Maher (for the Council).  They are Mark Brownrigg, Martin Cox, Ali Donnelly, Janine Fotiadis Negrepontis, Sam Kamleh, Luke Montgomery-Smith, Kasia Oberc and Cathy Stewart (see biographies below).

The retiring Trustees are Edward Davies, Lady Sheila Hale, Professor Jeremy Hamilton-Miller and Adrienne Rowe.  Anne Perry is also retiring as a Trustee but will remain as the Trust’s Honorary Secretary for the next 12 months.

Brasher added: “I want to thank the five departing Trustees for everything they have done as part of the Twickenham Riverside Trust. Their invaluable contribution has laid extremely strong foundations for what comes next.”

Outgoing Chair and retiring Trustee Edward Davies commented: “The Trust was formed in 2011 through the coming together of a disparate band of local campaigners, all of whom had been long committed to achieving the best for Twickenham Riverside. It’s time to hand over the reins to a new generation of Trustees equally invested in opening up Twickenham Riverside, not only to residents from all corners of our borough, but also to visitors from wider London and beyond.’

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *